January 3, 2013

This was a bit of a long movie day so bare with me. First up…

deeds

Mr. Deeds (2002)

This formulaic rags to ridiculous riches story is not my favorite Sandler flick, but it’s also not my least. (That would be click. Mostly because it was the backdrop of a horrific date, but that’s my own personal connotation.) Deeds starts off happy as a clam in his small town with his successful pizza business, the picture of ignorant bliss, when he is  whisked away to the bright lights and big city of New York and informed he is the sole heir to a bagillion dollar corporation. Of course, it could not be so simple as to take the money and live happily ever after, then we wouldn’t have a movie. Multiple plots to take advantage of Deeds quickly unfold and we watch as the manipulative schemes of big business and headline news  swirl around the good-natured Deeds. Winona plays the deceptively delicate face of the newspaper trying to get close to Deeds in order to write a scathing tell all exclusive, but of course falls madly in love with him just when the truth is revealed. The only people he could truly trust in the city were his gang of half wit helpers, who like him, have only the best intentions. This movie has the usual Happy Madison crew of bit-parts and the classic Sandler slap-stick you expect to see. My favorite of which was his disgusting, frost-bitten, black foot that comes in handy for rescuing damsels in distress.  Of course by the credits, all is made right with the world, the evil corporate snake is beheaded and the good guy gets the girl… and a couple mil. What more could you ask for really? Like I stated earlier, it’s no Billy Madison or Happy Gilmore but it will tickle your funny bone in the uniquely Sandler fashion. It’s a fine family movie and I usually stop for a minute when I see it’s on TV.

The Watch

I’m sad to say, I was disappointed. I had such high hopes for this comedy with some of my favorite funny people that I may have over-psyched myself for it. My reasoning: Jonah Hill, Vince Vaughn & Ben Stiller + aliens in suburbia = Awesomesauce. Though my logic is sound, the math didn’t work out. I found myself losing focus and getting distracted by my own feet during this film. That is to say, I was bored. Disclaimer, I wasn’t feeling well and this might have affected the hilarity in some small way, but not that much.  The film had its moments and it’s failure was not for lack of trying, but the experience was very similar to that of Vaughn’s other non-fave of mine, Couple’s Retreat. It just wasn’t doin’ it for me.  Best part: Stiller and Hill interrogating a skater punk “Look at my face and understand no one.”

Then the day took an epic turn…

X

X-Men  &   X2

Yes,  I am a girl who loves action movies based on comics. Christmas day brought Hulk Hands to the house and I was more interested in them than the child who received them. I admit and embrace it and want the world to know we are out there; and we’re much less rare then you’d think. We love you Stan Lee! Everyone knows the story and premiss of this franchise so I won’t bore you with the plot line details, but even if you are not a comic reader (i’m not) see this series for the sheer awesomeness of the effects. We follow the characters through a myriad of adventures and dilemmas they work through and most of us have our favorites. I am a fan of Mr. Jackman’s portrayal of Wolverine myself. I am forever in awe of how he is “simultaneously the most feminine and masculine man in the world.” There’s no brain teaser or ridiculous plot twists to follow so it’s just a good old American comic fun time. The concept that everyone is in someway mutant or different and therefore no one is actually different because we are alike in our different-ness, is an underlying moral to the story which a good friend of mine could discuss ad nauseum, and while it is an important message, it’s not at the forefront of my mind while watching Magneto manipulate metal and Wolverines strapping chest heave as his adamantium claws emerge with the trademark *SNIKT!* sound, and it’s surely not social commentary uh… effecting the audience while Rebecca Romjin slinks around in her blue body paint. I recommend this franchise for people who have eyes and like things. Smart-mouthed, badass mutants defending the population from other pissed-off, disenfranchised individuals is a good time for all. It’s just that simple.

Favorite Quotes:

Wolverine: Hey! It’s me.       Cyclops: Prove it!
Wolverine: You’re a dick.     Cyclops: Okay.

Magneto: You “homo sapiens” and your guns!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

