January 4, 2013

Sleepless In Seattle

This is one of those love stories that I unwisely measure my own love life against. It is an all time favorite, heart-warming, irrational tale of how bi-coastal soulmates come together via the radio waves and one precocious kid. I can’t NOT watch it’s when it’s on TV and for some ungodly reason, I don’t own a copy.  This movie always makes me happy. It reminds me that while it is important to appreciate what we have, we should never settle for less than we deserve. It also reinforces the notion that sometimes  outrageous acts in the name of love pay off. They haven’t worked out for me yet and I just end up looking crazy, but one day i’ll find my compliment who will appreciate them. Meg Ryan’s spazzy neurosis is relatable to any woman who’s ever fallen victim to the battle that rages between our hearts and better judgement. She leans on close friend Rosie O’Donnell to be her voice of reason who unfortunately (or fortunately)  encourages her to pursue the mystery radio man. Tom Hanks remains ever calm and collected despite the stirring accounts of his close friend and real life wife Rita Wilson and refrains from indulging in the avalanche of eligible women reaching out to him. That is until his young son takes off across the country to New York City to meet Ryan and bring the two together in a cinematic homage to An Affair To Remember. Though Hanks and Ryan share very little actual screen time, the pair  have a natural, easy chemistry that melts my heart. Obviously, as the two were later paired up again in You’ve Got Mail. This movie has laughs,  tears and two of my favorite cities in the world. Ladies love it and men get credit for watching it with us. So guys, pick up a pizza, a bottle of wine and Sleepless in Seattle on your way home and make it a date night!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “January 4, 2013

  1. Paul S says:

    It’s funny that I’ve always felt indifferent towards Sleepless in Seattle; but when I watched it again a couple of weeks ago I actually felt quite emotional when Annie met Sam atop The Empire State Building.

    You’re right about the chemistry between Meg and Tom, so evident in their later pairing in You’ve Got Mail, but I was wondering if you’d seen their first film together 1990’s Joe Versus the Volcano?
    If you love Sleepless’ you might want to take a look at it.

    • MeghanGentz says:

      I have seen it and I apologize for momentarily forgetting it. Thank you for catching me! I’m glad your recent Sleepless viewing was more stirring, it’s a favorite of mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

